THIRTEENTH CIRCUIT JUDICIAL NOMINATING COMMISSION ANNOUNCES APPLICANTS FOR COUNTY COURT JUDICIAL VACANCY

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

July 15, 2021

CONTACT: Christine Derr, Chair, christine@harrishuntderr.com Thirteenth Circuit Judicial Nominating Commission

TELEPHONE: (813) 223-5421

As a result of the upcoming retirement of the Honorable Joelle Ann Ober, there will be a vacancy on the County Court in the Thirteenth Judicial Circuit, and Governor Ron DeSantis convened the Thirteenth Circuit Judicial Nominating Commission to select and submit the names of highly qualified candidates to fill the vacancy. The following individuals have applied for the vacancy:

Adam Leo Bantner, II Amber Boles

Starr Linette Brookins Cory Lee Chandler Travis Jarod Coy

Paul Martin Dontenville Jr.

Matthew Lee Felix James Giardina Michael J. Hooi Eilam Michael Isaak Melissa Isabel

Dionne Michelle Jones

Joseph Kudia

Susan Shorter Lopez

Marc S. Makholm

Elba Caridad Martin Victoria McNeal Brigid Anne Merenda Donald Allen Mihokovich Bennett Matthew Miller

Bennett Matthew Miller Antina Levette Mobley

Dawn Myers Diego F. Novaes

Loretta Comiskey O'Keeffe Sara Kathleen Peacock Gregory D. Pizzo Jeffrey Michael Rich

Leslie Schultz-Kin Matthew Alex Smith

Alicia Raina Whiting-Bozich

The Commission encourages and seeks comments regarding the qualifications of these applicants from the public and from members of the Bench and Bar. Comments may be addressed to Christine Derr, Chair, Thirteenth Circuit Judicial Nominating Commission, and emailed to christine@harrishuntderr.com, or mailed to Christine Derr, Wells Fargo Center, 100 South Ashley Drive, Suite 300, Tampa, FL 33602. Comments must be received **no later than 12:00 p.m. (Noon)** on **August 2, 2021** to be considered by the Commission.

Interviews will be conducted on Monday, August 9, 2021 beginning at 9:00 a.m. at the Hillsborough County Bar Association, Chester H. Ferguson Law Center, 1610 North Tampa Street,

Tampa, Florida 33602. Applicants selected to be interviewed will be contacted to confirm the time of the interviews and will be permitted to appear in person or remotely (via Zoom). Proper social distancing and other Covid and safety protocols will be followed. A complete interview schedule will be published on or before August 3, 2021. A remote appearance option also will be made available for the public to attend the interviews.

All proceedings of the Commission are open to the public except for deliberations. Questions about the application or interview process should be directed to the Chair, Christine Derr or Vice Chair, Ryan Sainz.

The members of the Thirteenth Circuit Judicial Nominating Commission are:

Christine L. Derr, Chair, christine@harrishuntderr.com, 813-223-5421

Ryan Sainz, Vice Chair, <u>rsainz@forthepeople.com</u>, 813-223-5505

Maxmillian Amster, max@veridismgmt.com, 813-575-2266

J. Carter Andersen, candersen@bushross.com, 813-204-6405

Pedro Bajo, pbajo@bajocuva.com, 813-443-2199

Michael Beltran, mike.beltran@myfloridahouse.gov, 813-653-7097

Teresa M. Gaffney, terri@overstreetwealth.com, 813-287-1159

Thomas Newcomb Hyde, thomasnewcombhyde@gmail.com, 813-855-2071

Andrew J. Mayts, Jr., amayts@shumaker.com, 813-227-2248